For the love of Pizza (Low Cal Style)

10 Jul

I’ve recently been coming up with a bunch of recipes that are low cal and mimic my favorite foods. Pizza being in my top five; I couldn’t imagine living life without its cheesy goodness! The photo above is the finished product of one of my favorite’s, BBQ chicken pizza. Because I can only have 1200 Calories per day I count everything on www.MyFitnessPal.com and these recipes are 400 calories or under! The best thing about it is that pizza possibilities are endless and if you copy the secrets to making it low cal ANY pizza you can think up will be under 400 Calories!

  • Make sure you have low-fat, whole wheat tortilla shells. I used whole wheat medium-sized tortillas and they are 130 Calories each but you can find tortillas that are even lower calorie than that. I started making these healthy pizza’s on English muffins (same calorie count as a tortilla) but my friend told me about the tortilla idea and i never went back! Plus, I like eating English Muffins for breakfast not lunch/dinner.
  • Cover your tortilla with a tablespoon of sauce. Depending on what kind of pizza you are making a tablespoon of sauce can range between 40 calories to about 5 calories! The BBQ sauce I used for my BBQ chicken pizza was 30 calories (per tablespoon) and the marinara sauce I use for the pepperoni pizza was only 10 calories. Spread the sauce over the tortilla with your measuring spoon like this…..

this is the BBQ Chicken pizza in the making….one for me, one for my hubby.

  • Next add your toppings but this is where you need to make sure you measure! A 4 oz piece of chicken is 200 calories or more so that alone can make this meal go overboard! I had some left over chicken that I chopped up into really small bites. I measured mine in about 1/2 a cup and put the rest on my hubbies pizza (cause he’s tall and skinny and doesn’t need to count calories ::sigh::). Next I added the cheese which is low-fat skim mozzarella. Use 1/4 of a cup at 80 calories.

The blurred one in the back is my husbands which has more than twice the toppings of my delicious and healthy one in front!

  • Bake for about 7 minutes at 400 degrees until you can feel the edges are crispy!

I cut mine into 8 mini slices and it’s just perfect! The BBQ Chicken one is only 370 Calories but I’ve also made a Pepperoni (Turkey pepperoni) pizza that is only 270 Calories!

Considering that a single slice of delivery pizza is an average of 280 Calories I’d say go for this if you are having a pizza craving and live without the guilt of ruining your whole day! I promise it’s MEAL sized not snack size!

Hasta Manana!!

Love ya,

Christine Kay

2 Responses to “For the love of Pizza (Low Cal Style)”

  1. Needle and Fork 07/10/2012 at 5:33 PM #

    they all look so delicious!!

    • lifeaftersingle 07/10/2012 at 5:38 PM #

      Oh they are! Nom Nom Nom 🙂

Input here!

