Weave me alone!

14 Jul

When Adrian was about 3 months old I stopped nursing (because I had to) and shortly after my hair started falling out and has been ever since.

Yup, I’m going bald. If you’ve been through the same thing, I feel your pain. When I was pregnant my hair grew so incredibly long and thick, it was gorgeous. Now it is thinning every day.

Dear Hair, I take back all the nasty things I said about you being unmanageable and too thick, please come back!

For about a month now I’ve noticed the texture has changed and my brush is packed full of hair every time I brush it and I’m constantly cleaning up my hair all over the place!

Today after my formerly loved shower time I noticed the largest clump of hair yet and I wanted to scream!

Lucky for me my twin sister experienced the exact same thing and forewarned me. If I wasn’t ready for this I would never leave the bathroom. Her hair feel out the same as mine after her last pregnancy and her hair started growing back after a few months of shedding.

Maybe I’ll have that to look forward to, maybe not. A long time ago I worked with a woman who wore a wig because her hair fell out after pregnancy and never came back. It’s hard being a woman and losing your hair because it’s one of those things that make you womanly, sexy, attractive…etc. It sucks but at the same time, I love weave.

Clip ins wigs, you name it and I want it! It’s even better than the real deal because you can change it from day-to-day! I wish I had a huge array of options like Kim Zolciak from the Real Housewives of Atlanta or like every single movie star in Hollywood. Sadly, I do not, I only have this weave sulking my closet right now.

Meet Rochelle….Yes, I named her. Why did I pick that name of all names? I just figured it sounded like some woman in Texas with big hair that reached the sky!

She’s been sad because I haven’t taken her in public for over a year and she’s dusty, old and heading towards retirement. Who knows, she just might get her chance in the sun due to my balding dilemma. I’ll give her a face lift and put her back in the game until I can get my hands on a newer set……maybe I’ll go blonde, blonde’s have more fun right?

🙂

Christine Kay

5 Responses to “Weave me alone!”

  1. Beth 07/16/2012 at 2:16 PM #

    I lost over 50% of my hair after first pregnancy. No one had told me and I was too frightened to ask. Finally at the Dermatologist office one day, he noticed. Told me it would come back And that it did! My housekeeper had to clean out the vacuum quite often during the “shedding period.” She never said one word about it until it was over. Understand your pain.

    • thislifeaftersingle 07/16/2012 at 2:25 PM #

      Thanks for commenting. It’s nice to read feedback from people who’ve been there. 🙂

  2. Michelle 07/16/2012 at 2:54 PM #

    Yes, you were so right! I sympathize with you 100%. I hope your hair starts to grow back soon. In the mean time, have fun the Rochelle, and maybe blondes do have more fun? What a wonderful time to figure it out 🙂
    And maybe I’ll get a “Rochelle” myself…Thank you 🙂

    • thislifeaftersingle 07/16/2012 at 2:57 PM #

      I got “Rochelle” at Ulta. It’s the Jessica Simpson extension line there. It’s really easy to wear and I say go for it!

  3. Diva 07/18/2012 at 11:12 PM #

    You’ve got it; it’s all in the attitude. I enjoyed reading your post. I found your positive attitude concerning a potentially overwhelming situation to be refreshing. Good for you, embrace the weave /wig in all of its glorious beauty in an array of colors and lengths. Now it is up and on to more pending matters like enjoying every moment with your family! Thanks for visiting my blog, happy writing to you.

Input here!

