A Dream of a Coma

18 Jul

Today I couldn’t get out of bed, it was like my body had morphed into stone during my dreams. My dreams which have become more like never-ending movies trapped in my brain. Sometimes I think about writing stories about them because they are just that awesome. I didn’t want to wake up but I did.

There was a hot cup of coffee waiting for me when my eyes opened. It seemed like a dream but it wasn’t, these are the things Wes does for me, he makes dreams come true. I sipped my beloved coffee and thought about how comfortable my bed is, and how much I love my fan blowing on me like I’m sleeping on the beach…..Our room isn’t highly decorated and fancy like I want it to be but it is still perfect and wonderful and…home.

I remembered a time when Wes and I used to lay in bed all day together, watching scary movies than funny movies. Eating  breakfast, lunch and dinner in bed. On Monday mornings we would hit the snooze button on the alarm clock about 4 or 5 times. Every second of every minute counted! “Just one more minute….Ok, one more…….Ok five more and that’s really it!” About two weeks ago we were in bed and Wes’ alarm clock went off and I said “What is that!!??” and he said “It’s my alarm clock!” Then after realizing that we hadn’t needed the alarm clock ever since having Adrian, so much that we don’t even know what it sounds like anymore it was quite the morning giggle.  The alarm was once despised and unwanted and is now a fond memory of the past……

After sipping my coffee and thinking about my beloved memories of sleep I started to conspire about how to get more of it as Adrian began his early morning conversation. In the morning Adrian likes to tell me about his dreams and how excited he is for the day. He can’t talk yet but I know what his screeches mean. He always tells me his dreams are filled with swinging outside and sipping milk. So like Wes does for me with my morning coffee I make it a reality after I change his diaper and get him dressed.

The weekends are different. We have plans with family or we run errands all day and on the rare occasion we sit like zombies and watch movies while tending to the baby. This weekend is one of the plans with family weekends, a BBQ. There’s nothing better than a family BBQ during the summer but I couldn’t help but think…this is my chance!! Like an inmate about to escape, I thought it was now or NEVER!

I had devised a plan to be completely alone. Wes would take Adrian to the BBQ and I would stay at home and run errands sleep. What would Wes say? Would they take the bait? Of course I would have to have a viable excuse for missing a family event and “sleep” would probably be frowned upon. If they thought I was running errands about town doing important things they would say “Aww, that’s ok. There’s always next time!”

Thoughts of being alone and isolated started running through my head. I pictured myself lonely in bed, in the middle of the day, blinds closed making the room completely black. I’m in the deepest sleep I’ve ever experienced. I imagine I sleep so long that the whole day completely passes. I don’t even wake for food or water, I don’t even stretch. I’m in a coma.

Of course every inmate planning a prison break needs the aid of a cell mate. So I run my plan by my twin Marianne to see if it seems successful and realistic. She says: “Wait until the beach trip in August to sleep!”…. I thought to myself..Maybe she doesn’t know the sleep I am imagining. She is thinking of the relax on the beach halfway sleeping halfway enjoying the sound of the ocean and kids playing kinda sleep. No…no… NO that’s just the appetizer version of that I am yearning for!!

Then like a light-bulb being turned on a thought came into my mind…..She must not think of sleep the way I do, she has moved on from fantasizing about a coma. In her mind the word “sleep” comes with noises, commotion and other people around. She is trained in the ways of  being a mom, parenting and lack of sleep.

Will this become me?

::yawns:: xoxo,

Christine Kay

5 Responses to “A Dream of a Coma”

  1. heartandskull 07/18/2012 at 10:29 AM #

    I have crazy dreams too that I often consider writing down and sharing with others. I have been having night terrors since I was four, and it seems my dreams get crazier every night.
    Very interesting. I enjoyed reading this!
    xx

    • thislifeaftersingle 07/18/2012 at 10:40 AM #

      Thanks for reading and the same with me. I’ve had nightmares since I was very little my dreams now have turned into crazy scifi movies! Glad you liked it.

      • heartandskull 07/18/2012 at 10:47 AM #

        That is how I am! I tell people about the dreams I have and they think I am making them up… I just have a crazy imagination.
        🙂

  2. Jonathan 07/18/2012 at 11:57 AM #

    Your daydreams sounds as crazy as mine… Just discovered your blog – love your writing style.

    • thislifeaftersingle 07/18/2012 at 1:27 PM #

      Thanks Jonathan! I’ll check out your blog in return! Hope you enjoy the randomness of future posts! 🙂

Input here!

