Crafting Kills

21 Jul

Well….I’m not dead but I sure did slice my finger really good  while crafting…..

You like my make shift band-aid?……… I thought you would.

Because of this near death  finger loss experience I had to share the craft that nearly cost me my life finger.

I’m all about up-cycling and re-purposing things around the house. So much that I pretty much don’t throw any glass or plastic products away because I know there is something cool I can turn it into. My house doesn’t look like an episode of hoarders or anything but I do have a crafting corner (aka: Our Dining-room table that we NEVER sit at).

I saw this idea on a few crafting links and I’m not sure who brilliantly came up with it first but this is the site where I found it. www.lifehacker.com

Turn a plastic milk carton into a scoop!

Obviously, I didn’t really think before I sliced into it hence the injury and I used a knife not scissors which would be a lot safer but, I’m a trial and error kinda girl….

When I saw this I thought this is so awesome cause I really need a gardening scoop for potting soil!

Could be prettier but like I said before, I’m an impatient and messy crafter! If I get bored one day I will vamp it up!

Where I went wrong, I tried to cut the handle off first, don’t do that. Cut from the spout of the jug and then around until it’s taken the shape of a scoop and for Pete’s sake be careful! 🙂

I also use milk jugs to water my plants instead of buying a fancy one from the store for 10 bucks.

Seriously it serves the same purpose as a store-bought watering canister but it’s basically free (which makes it way cooler) and I had fun jazzing it up!

Enjoy your weekend people! Talk to you soon!

Ciao Bellas,

Christine Kay

9 Responses to “Crafting Kills”

  1. Brooke 07/21/2012 at 3:26 PM #

    It would be stronger if you left the handle intact. Just FYI for next time:) Love you!!!

    • thislifeaftersingle 07/21/2012 at 3:58 PM #

      I didn’t even think of that! I’m gonna try it when I’m done with our current milk supply lol. Xoxo

  2. good2begone 07/21/2012 at 6:04 PM #

    Crafty indeed. On the bright side, you cut the correct finger for showing it off….😊

  3. wemakeitbeautiful 07/21/2012 at 6:20 PM #

    ouch… what we do to save a milk jug! love that you repurposed a plastic item instead of going out and buying a watering can or hand trowel. great crafting is worth suffering for. 🙂

  4. Jonathan 07/22/2012 at 12:54 AM #

    Your accident reminds me of the time we had friends arriving for dinner, and my other half chopped the end of her finger off… cue amusing call (well… amusing now, several years later) from Accident and Emergency at the local hospital, delaying dinner until much later in the evening…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. For the cook « Family Bugs Blogging - 07/25/2012

    […] Crafting Kills (thislifeaftersingle.wordpress.com) Share: Pin ItShare on TumblrMoreDiggPrintEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Input here!

