Suga Booga

21 Dec

She was a vibrant and loving woman with kind, smiling eyes. 

She gave soft smooches and her hugs were always tight.

With her  thick southern accent she loved to call the little ones “Suga Booga”

I loved when she would sing songs and tell me stories while we swung together on her front porch.

I would snuggle her feathery white hair and hold her soft hands.

Even her hands told a story, she lost the tip of her finger working in a sugar mill as a young adult. She used to wiggle it and call it her nub and I’d laugh.

She was a hard-working woman who did  everything she could for her family. The kind of woman to really look up to. 

She taught me how to show big love through small things like cooking.

I will miss seeing her in her kitchen while I sat on the chair in the corner watching her.

She was a great baker, chicken fryer and sweet tea maker.

Like any true Southern woman she had a love for gardening and she was proud of her flowers.

I will miss our strolls along the lake behind her house to the Flower Nursery, where she worked from time to time.

The kids used to run to the dock at the lake and go fishing. I don’t think anyone ever caught anything from that little pier, it was just a part of being there.

 She used to say a lot of  one-liners like “Bless your heart” and she always said she was “older than dirt”. 

She was funny. 

She used to drive like a “Bat outta hell”, drank black coffee like water and smoked unfiltered Lucky Strikes. 

She was a rebel.

She liked to watch movies and oo7 was her favorite but mostly because of Pierce Brosnan, her heart-throb. 

She raised a perfect gentleman in my father and taught him that no matter what, there is nothing more important than family. These values she taught him and he has passed to me and my sisters.

She was my Nanny and she brought so much joy into my life.

Her love was truly one of a kind.

Even though my heart is broken from losing her, I am comforted to know that she is an angel looking down on all of us from heaven.

Nanny,

 I love you to the moon and back and will miss you dearly. I will hold on tight to these favorite memories of you until I see you again in heaven.

Rest with the Angels,

Chrissy ~your little Suga Booga

“Death leaves a heartache no one can heal, love leaves a memory no one can steal”

3 Responses to “Suga Booga”

  1. Clay Simpson 12/23/2012 at 11:26 AM #

    Thnak you for putting into words what I was thinking, you made me cry and smile at the same time! I Love you Christine! This made my day!!

    • ThisLifeAfterSingle 01/05/2013 at 1:53 PM #

      Thanks for reading Clay! Makes me happy to know the family likes it. Love you too! Wish I could be in Georgia during this time.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Hummingbird food | This Life After Single - 02/26/2013

    […] Lucky for me they are always buzzing around my yard too!  Maybe it’s my Nanny stopping by to say “Hey, Suga Booga“. […]

Input here!

