Perfect Paper Roses

11 Jan

My fiancée and his family have a pretty cool Christmas tradition of giving “Gag” gifts for the adults (Excluding the little ones). It’s always a fun time seeing someone open a gag gift but this year I wanted to do some gag gifts that are usable and possibly even for keeps….but still funny.

With that being said in November I started my search for cool ideas and fell in love with these handmade paper roses. I used them as part of my inspiration!

My sister-in-law and I love Pinterest and find most of the TP roll crafts pretty weird/funny so I put the paper flower idea in with this beautiful wreath and viola!

An all paper wreath that is funny when you think of the materials but also eco-friendly and very pretty!

Paper wreath

This would be a perfect and easy wreath to make for any occasion, especially a Valentine’s Day wreath. I used empty wrapping paper rolls from Christmas and it was perfect! I made the roses from red craft paper at the dollar store. It’s simple, cut the wrapping paper rolls in about 1 inch pieces, flatten it out and glue it in any design you want! Glue the roses on top and add a nice bow!

Since I love the gag gift wreath so much I made another paper flower inspired wreath for us to keep!

Eucalyptus

Seasonal wreaths are so fun and easy to make, you really can’t go wrong. This one I hung in my house for Valentine’s Day and I just used a wreath from the dollar store, craft paper from Michael’s (4 for a $1) and the branches are Eucalyptus! I’m lucky enough to have a Eucalyptus tree in my back yard (Gotta love California) but if you don’t have that you can use any branches or you can buy them at Michael’s! This wreath is so pretty and it smells like a spa. It’s amazing!


paper roses
Aren’t those rolled paper roses so beautiful! I might have to think of more crafts using them….Follow me on Pinterest for more fun ideas! 

paper roses 2

 

What kind of wreaths are your favorite?

Xo,

Christine Kay

5 Responses to “Perfect Paper Roses”

  1. Debbie 01/11/2013 at 5:31 PM #

    I love the roses! How did you make them? The eucalyptus wreath is beautiful!

    • ThisLifeAfterSingle 01/11/2013 at 6:06 PM #

      There’s a tutorial in the first link on the page. Basically you just draw a large spiral circle on your paper of choice and cut it out, then roll it up! It looks just like a rose! 🙂

  2. newbloggycat 02/08/2013 at 6:06 AM #

    Howdy, thanks for dropping by my blog and liking my post.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mr. Potato Head writes a love letter. « This Life After Single - 02/07/2013

    […] also, some of those beautiful paper roses I made in an earlier […]

  2. The perfect table for two THREE! « This Life After Single - 02/15/2013

    […] taped it on the inside of my paper rose wreath, and hung it on the exterior of the door so Wes could see it before he walked […]

Input here!

