DIY baby wipes!

19 Feb

Seriously, when you are in a pickle, you’d be surprised with the things you can make from scratch with items you already have at home!

Wes and I realized last-minute that we were out of diaper wipes. We had two options, 1. Wes would run to the store and possibly be late to work (we share a car) or 2. I find a way to make some.

Well duh,  I can make ANYTHING!

I found this pin on Pinterest and I was all set!

All you need is a roll of paper towels, cut in half. I used a little hand saw and it was messy but got the job done.

Paper towel cut in half

Stuff your paper towels in your container, I used an empty formula can.

 

Empty formula can

…..and I did make one change.

 I took out the center cardboard piece! That way you can pull each piece like you would a regular pack!

Mix together:

2 1/4 cup of water

2 tbsp of baby wash (I used Johnson & Johnson Bedtime wash , I love the smell)

1 tbsp of baby oil (Johnson & Johnson Baby oil)

and pour it over your paper towels! I let it sit for a few minutes and really soak before I used them.

Pull from the center so it stays nice and neat!

removed cardboard for easy pulling

At first I made these out of desperation for some wipes but, as soon as I started using them I realized, I like them way more than the store-bought kind. Not to mention, they are a fraction of the price!

We buy the Walmart brand (Parent’s Choice) wipes that cost around $1.50 per pack. One paper towel roll is probably the equivalent of about four of the store-bought packs and cost about 60 cents (or less depending on the brand of paper towels you use).

If you do the math and the time it takes to actually make them (2.2 seconds), it really is a no brainer.

Save money and make them yourself!  Thanks a bunch.

Tata!

Christine Kay

4 Responses to “DIY baby wipes!”

  1. Brooke 02/19/2013 at 11:07 AM #

    You can do this with any kind of wipe! If I had a baby, I would so make these.

  2. McGirl 02/21/2013 at 11:09 AM #

    Very crafty!

  3. kathsartcorner 03/07/2013 at 10:13 AM #

    Thank-you for the “like!” 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Wipecloths | Honesty's Protégée - 03/08/2013

    […] the DIY Wipecloths. I came across a post for baby wipes and thought why not modify it into something I can carry in my bag, does a good job […]

Input here!

