DIY Hummingbird food

26 Feb

Hummingbirds remind me of when I would visit my Nanny in Georgia, they were always buzzing around all the flowers in her yard.  Every time I see them now, I think of her .

Lucky for me they are always buzzing around my yard too!  Maybe it’s my Nanny stopping by to say “Hey, Suga Booga“.

When Wes and I moved into our house, one of the first things I bought was a simple hummingbird feeder. You can see our whole yard from the sliding glass door in the livingroom. So, I hung it right where I could see them come and go.

The feeder came with a little pack of concentrated red syrup but, since that ran out I have made my own. Hummingbirds essentially eat simple syrup – water and sugar…. It can’t get easier than that.

Filling it upMix 4 cups of water with 1 cup of sugar and bring to a boil.

Let it simmer for a couple of minutes then take it off the heat to cool.

Then just pour it in your feeder when it’s room temperature!

Hanging feeder

Here’s a picture I took a couple of weeks ago. Hello, little flying friend. 🙂

Hummingbird eating

I love them. Aren’t they just precious?

Christine Kay

3 Responses to “DIY Hummingbird food”

  1. Brooke 02/26/2013 at 12:04 PM #

    They are so cute!! I tried to get them in my yard, to no avail:( I guess I will live vicariously through you:)

  2. cristinacole23 02/28/2013 at 11:14 AM #

    Hello!!! I just nominated you for the Liebster Award Keep up your amazing posts. Check it out here http://staysanemommies.wordpress.com/2013/02/28/i-won/

Input here!

