Bird feeder fun with a side order of FREAK OUT!!

13 Mar

I learned this way back in the day when I was in girl scouts. It’s the perfect family time craft in the spring/summertime.

Making a DIY Pine cone bird feeder!

First, you need to take the kids out on a pine cone hunt! You could even get some dollar store  supplies before you head out on your journey. Grab a cool bag to collect them in, a little magnifying glass etc…then they will be all set to go on a super secret mission!

Then all you need to do is spread peanut butter on your pine cones, roll them in bird seed and hang them up! Easy Peasy!

Things you need

Roll in seed

Adrian isn’t old enough to make one himself but he is the best pine cone collector out there and he helped me pick just the right spot to hang it….

Adrian and pine coneHanging in the treeMeanwhile, behind the scenes….

We hung the bird feeder and I put Adrian on the patio next to his Wagon to play while I went inside to grab the laptop. That way I could work on this post while he played in the yard.

To give you a better picture of the situation My laptop was at arms reach inside the back door, I was inside long enough for the screen door to close.

When I returned I see Adrian looking very confused.

Then I noticed that his cheek looked like a baseball player with chew in it.

Yes, I FREAKED OUT!

I swooped the mystery object out of his mouth IMMEDIATELY!!

What was it you ask?

snail ahhThis is officially the most horrifying thing he’s ever done…by far!

I could see it as I pulled it out of his mouth and I screeched! It was seriously like something out of the movie Aliens.

That will teach me to leave him in the yard unsupervised for ANY amount of time!

He crunched a nice hole in the snail’s shell too (as you can see).  So yeah, I had to dig tiny bits out of his mouth.

Then it was off to the bathroom to wash his mouth out and brush his teeth, which he loves. 

So, for him, that confusing moment was over and he giggled the entire time.

Me? I’m not giggling….I’m grossed out.

Just a day in the life! 🙂

Xoxo,

Christine Kay

One Response to “Bird feeder fun with a side order of FREAK OUT!!”

  1. Brooke 03/13/2013 at 8:51 PM #

    OH NO!!!! Now I understand why you no longer like the little slimies in your yard!!

Input here!

